War Fiction Books

31 Products

View

Enter the spectacular fantasy world of Game of Thrones, with this amazing 7 book collection.Get a free map of Westeros and the Free Cities included in this action-packed box set.George R. R. Martin's critically acclaimed 'A Song of Ice and Fire' has become one of the greatest fantasy epics of modern times combining the medieval background with supernatural elements, battles and political intrigue taking place on the fictional continents of Westeros and Essos. The success of these breath-taking books has led onto even greater acclaim for the HBO television adaptation 'Game of Thrones'.Immerse yourself into a world of political deception, fire-breathing dragons, ancient families and gripping battles. The series follows the growing threat of mythical beings roaming beyond the unnerving ice wall; the civil war and battle between the great families of Westeros for the throne of the Seven Kingdoms; and the ambition of a young, exiled daughter of the slain King, desperate to claim her birth right. Become totally engrossed in the lives of your favourite characters and how their journey's become woven together, the history surrounding the events unfolding in front of you and the fight for power.Titles in this collection:• A Game of Thrones• A Clash of Kings• A Storm of Swords 1: Steel { Snow• A Storm of Swords 2: Blood { Gold• A Feast for Crows• A Dance with Dragons 1: Dreams { Dust• A Dance with Dragons 2: After the Feast• Map of Westeros and the Free CitiesAbout the Author:George R. R. Martin is the bestselling fantasy author behind the ground-breaking series 'A Song of Ice and Fire'. The television adaptation of this series 'Game of Thrones' has grown into one of the most captivating TV shows of

4.9 ({1})
£30.00 RRP £65.00 Save £35.00 (54% Off RRP)

Her beauty saved her life... and condemned her. In 1942, Cilka Klein was sixteen-years-old when she was taken to Auschwitz-Birkenau. Noticing her beautiful long hair, Commandment Schwarzhuber forced her to separate from the other women prisoners. Cilka was then charged as a collaborator by the Russians and sent to Vorkuta, a prison camp in Siberia. Once again, Cilka faced a familiar and horrifying battle for survival. Befriending a woman doctor, Cilka learnt to nurse the ill in the camp... eventually tending to a man named Alexandr. The story of Cilka's discovery that there is room in your heart for love, despite all unimaginable circumstances. A powerful testament to the triumph of human will, based on what is known of Cilka Klein's experiences. The sequel to the No.1 Bestseller - The Tattooist of Auschwitz. Product Information:• ISBN: 9781785769047• Author: Heather Morris• Publisher: Zaffre• Format: Hardback• Pages: 401• Dimensions: 24 x 16 x 4cm

3.3 ({1})
£6.00 RRP £14.99 Save £8.99 (60% Off RRP)

Their survival depended on one another... they knew they had to live for each other. It is 1940, the Nazis have occupied The Netherlands and the Final Solution is about to commence. But resistance is rising and two Jewish sisters Janny and Lien Brilleslijper, are willing to risk their lives in order to help those being hunted and bring them to the safehouse 'The High Nest'. Becoming one of the most important safehouses in the country, the High Nest's occupants are suddenly betrayed and the sister's most terrifying time begins... With the German defeat in sight, Janny and Lien are on their way to Auschwitz, alongside Anne Frank and her family. But the challenges the sisters are about to face is beyond human imagination and it will take all of their courage, resilience and love to keep the alive. For readers of the Tattooist of Auschwitz - the true story of two Jewish sisters' resistance in the heart of Nazi territory. Product Information:• ISBN: 9781841883731• Author: Roxanne Van Iperen• Publisher: Seven Dials• Format: Hardback• Pages: 299• Dimensions: 24 x 17 x 3cm

5 ({1})
£6.00 RRP £18.99 Save £12.99 (68% Off RRP)

When Holly Farthing's overbearing grandfather tries to force her to marry a widower twice her age, she finally says no. After he refuses to support her any longer, Holly flees to London, bringing her best friend and maid, Ivy, with her. In the big smoke, Holly searches for the father she's never met and begins nurse training in the local hospital. There she meets the dashing Doctor Parkin. Kind and compassionate, he is everything Holly has ever dreamt of. When Doctor Parkin proposes, Holly finally feels like she'll have the family she so longs for. But soon, she discovers some shocking news that means they can never be together, and her life is suddenly thrown into turmoil. Supporting the war effort, she heads to France and throws herself into volunteering on the front line. Product Information:• ISBN: 9781785767609• Author: Rosie Goodwin • Publisher: Zaffre• Format: Paperback• Pages: 528• Dimensions: 12.9 x 2.9 x 19.8 cm

5 ({1})
£2.00 RRP £7.99 Save £5.99 (75% Off RRP)

A young recruit, a legendary battle, a cataclysmic war, a baptism by fire... Confident and strong willed, Kelly Maguire knew from a young age that he could accomplish great things. A constant and abiding love of the ocean would prove to be the making of him. When the call of war is heard in the early 1910s, Kelly knows that he must answer it. Enlisting in the Royal Navy, he hopes to win both the war and personal glory. But from the barbarous battles of Gallipoli to the nightmarish action at Antwerp, Kelly, along with his young shipmates, begins to learn the trials a sailor must face, trials that will forge him from a boy into a man. As the epic battle of Jutland approaches, everything is at stake. Product Information:• ISBN: 9781788637992• Author: Max Hennessy• Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing• Format: Paperback• Pages: 368• Dimensions: 20 x 13 x 2.1cm

3.9 ({1})
£2.00 RRP £8.99 Save £6.99 (78% Off RRP)

As World War 2 explodes around him, and after a devastating loss in the Battle of Narvik, Maguire finds himself washed up at Dunkirk during the perilous evacuation of 1940; once more he must prove his worth. On the ocean, and on the beaches, Kelly will fight for his country, and for the ones he loves. But as the final days of combat draw near, and he is on the verge of true greatness after the Normandy landings, he is tasked with one final mission, that could signal the end of his career... Product Information:• ISBN: 9781788638012• Author: Max Hennessy• Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing• Format: Paperback• Pages: 352 • Dimensions: 20 x 13 x 2.1cm

5 ({1})
£2.00 RRP £8.99 Save £6.99 (78% Off RRP)

Dive into the nitty gritty world of Peaky Blinders and discover the streets of Birmingham, the fire-roaring factories, the Gin cellars and the horse fairs on the edge of town... Since 2013, Peaky Blinders has evolved into the hit phenomena, notoriously loved for it's Garrison Tavern saloon bar and Shelby family antics. This book is the first of the TV series', featuring all exclusive content from interviews with the creator and writers to Tommy Shelby and the gang themselves. Learn everything you need to know about the cast and the production team and gain some insider's knowledge! The must-have companion for all top fans - by Order of the Peaky Blinders. 'Super-stylish gangster drama' - The Times Product Information:• ISBN: 9781789291650• Author: Steven Knight• Publisher: Michael O'Mara Books Limited• Format: Hardback• Pages: 221• Dimensions: 25 x 19.5 x 2cm

3.7 ({1})
£10.00 RRP £20.00 Save £10.00 (50% Off RRP)

The war is over... In Bristol, three very different women wait for their loved ones to return home. But Edna’s fiancé returns badly crippled. And Charlotte’s husband comes back a very different creature to the kind, gentle man she remembers. And as for Polly, her GI boyfriend doesn’t come back at all, leaving her with a bun in the oven and a scandal in the making... A wonderful family saga set in Bristol at the end of World War 2 – a must-read for fans of Katie Flynn. Product Information: • ISBN: 9781785032127 • Author: Lizzie Lane • Publisher: Ebury Press • Format: Paperback • Pages: 410  • Dimensions: 17.7 x 11 x 2.5cm.

3.5 ({1})
£2.00 RRP £5.99 Save £3.99 (67% Off RRP)

It all seemed too good to be true... The moment artist Riana Evans sees the dilapidated mansion in Wales, she determines to buy it, despite its unhappy past - twenty years ago, five maids died there in mysterious circumstances. The house's 'ghosts' prove good for business - inspiring her paintings and providing atmosphere at a series of ghost-spotting weekends. Her romantic life begins to look up too in the form of handsome airman Tom Maybury. But the mystery of the girls' deaths hangs over everything. Riana soon discovers that the house holds a secret, and there's someone - or something - who'll do anything to make sure she never discovers it. Product Information: ISBN: 9781788639569 Author: Iris Gower Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing Format: Paperback Pages: 304 Dimensions: 19.8 x 12.9 x 1.9cm

5 ({1})
£2.00 RRP £8.99 Save £6.99 (78% Off RRP)

After escaping a train bound for a death camp with a trusty German Shepherd dog, a girl wakes to find that she has no memory of her former life. Lily is fostered by the kind RAF pilot who found her and his wife, Meg. It is not long before their lives are disrupted once again by the war and, with their home in ruins, they are forced to flee to the country. In the Somerset countryside, Lily is reunited with Rudy, the heroic German Shepherd. However it soon becomes clear that Rudy is not just her companion, he is protecting her too, and someone wants him out of the way… Product Information: ISBN: 9781529107555 Author: Lizzie Lane Publisher: Ebury Press Format: Paperback Pages: 384 Dimensions: 19.7 x 12.7 x 2.5cm

4.9 ({1})
£2.00 RRP £7.99 Save £5.99 (75% Off RRP)

Flavius Ferox is the hardbitten centurion charged with keeping the peace on Britannia's frontier with the barbarian tribes of the north. Now he's been summoned to Londinium by the governor, but before he sets out an imperial freedman is found brutally murdered in a latrine at Vindolanda fort – and Ferox must find the killer. As he follows the trail, the murder leads him to plots against the empire and Rome itself, and an old foe gathering mysterious artefacts in the hope of working a great magic. Bandits, soldiers, and gladiators alike are trying to kill him, old friends turn traitor, and Ferox is lured reluctantly to the sinister haunts of the old druids on the isle of Mona, and the bitter power struggle among the Brigantes, the great tribe of the north... Product Information:• ISBN: 9781784978211• Author: Adrian Goldsworthy • Publisher: Head of Zeus• Format: Paperback• Pages: 464• Dimensions: 12.7 x 2.8 x 19.7cm

3.7 ({1})
£2.00 RRP £8.99 Save £6.99 (78% Off RRP)

Fresh from his triumph in the Great War, Kelly Maguire returns to battle. Hero of Jutland in World War I, Kelly Maguire progresses rapidly through the ranks during the dangerous post-war years, despite the government's decision to cut down the Navy. He eventually finds himself in Russia during the Civil War years, when the Navy manned armoured trains in order to rescue thousands of terrified White Army men, beset on all sides by disease and the rampaging Red Army. From Russia he moves on to China, and is involved with a gunboat incident on the Yangtze. An awe-inspiring tale of adventure and war, The Dangerous Years is a thrilling historical novel, perfect for fans of David McDine, Alan Evans and Alexander Fullerton. Product Information:• ISBN: 9781788638005• Author: Max Hennessy• Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing• Format: Paperback• Pages: 352• Dimensions: 20 x 13 x 2cm

4.5 ({1})
£2.00 RRP £8.99 Save £6.99 (78% Off RRP)